Oscar Predictions 2013

The 85th annual Academy Awards are scheduled to start in just a few short hours. Some may call them “The Superbowl for people who don’t care about football” (which I suppose makes the Superbowl the Academy Awards for people who don’t care about award shows). In either case it’s basically a bunch of famous people under one roof being all self-congratulatory in front of the cameras.

In both cases, I can’t get enough.

Last year, I attempted to liveblog the event, but got bored halfway through (aka fell asleep). I’m giving it my second attempt this year, but no promises. I’m watching it at the BFF’s house and she has a nine-month old who is MUCH more interesting than ‘Best Sound Mixing’.

So, just in case I get lost in a few (hundred) games of peek-a-boo, I wanted to at very least, give my Oscar predictions. But only in the categories that aren’t boring. Again, sorry ‘Best Sound Mixing’, but I don’t really care about you.

So, without wasting any more time, here’s how I see the Oscars 2013 going:

Best Picture:  Amour, Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Misérables, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty

What will win: Argo

What should win: Lincoln

I liked Argo, don’t get me wrong. In fact, I think there were a lot of really great movies out this year. Chuckie from Good Will Hunting made a really excellent film AND was able to convince Alan Arkin and John Goodman to film pretty much all of their scenes together. It is basically a win.

However, I don’t think it was the BEST movie of the year. Despite being a film that was essentially made to win awards, Lincoln was far and away the best movie I saw all year (and not just because I’m a history nerd…although that helps).

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Bradley Cooper, Daniel Day-Lewis, Hugh Jackman, Joaquin Phoenix, Denzel Washington

Who will win: Daniel Day-Lewis

Who should win: Daniel Day-Lewis

Sorry everyone not named “Daniel Day-Lewis”, but you are going to lose. It’s not even a contest. In any other year, any of the other nominees would have had a chance, but DDL just KILLED IT as the 16th President. He was perfect. Almost as perfect as this scene from Last Of The Mohicans

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Jessica Chastain, Jennifer Lawrence, Emmanuelle Riva, Quvenzhané Wallis, Naomi Watts

Who will win: Jennifer Lawrence

Who should win: Naomi Watts

To be honest, the only performance I saw was Jessica Chastain in Zero Dark Thirty and she was quite good. But all of the buzz is surrounding Jennifer Lawrence this year. Personally, I’d like to see Naomi Watts win for no other reason than to stick it to her former (or maybe current?) BFF, Nicole Kidman who was too busy to film a 60 Minutes segment for her bestie after her nominations (Botox injections is apparently a full-time job these days)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Alan Arkin, Robert DeNiro, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Tommy Lee Jones, Christoph Waltz

Who will win: toss up, but likely Robert DeNiro

Who should win: Alan Arkin or Christoph Waltz

This is probably the closest call in all of the categories. Literally, ANY of these guys could win and they’d all be deserving. I didn’t see Silver Linings, but, like J-Law, there has been mad buzz around DeNiro’s performance. He’s due for a win, especially considering this is probably the best role he’s been able to get in over a decade.

Personally, I’d go with either Alan Arkin. He essentially plays the same character over and over again, but does it with such aplumb and charisma that you can’t help but throw every conceivable accolade at him. If not Arkin, I’d give the hardware to Christoph Waltz, who made everyone want to become a dentist-turned-bounty hunter with a BFF named Django.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Amy Adams, Anne Hathaway, Helen Hunt, Sally Field, Jacki Weaver

Who will win: Anne Hathaway

Who should win: Anne Hathaway

By far the weakest category, but it doesn’t matter. Anne Hathaway will win. I didn’t see The Master or The Sessions, so I have no opinion on Amy Adams or Helen Hunt (same with Silver Linings and Jacki Weaver), but I did see Lincoln and thought Sally Field was nothing special and actually, incredibly annoying as Mary Todd Lincoln. The best thing about Field’s performance? Frank Caliendo’s review of Lincoln as Jim Rome where he called Field “Mary Todd Gidget”.

Best Director: Amour (Michael Haneke), Beasts of the Southern Wild (Benh Zeitlin), Life of Pi (Ang Lee), Silver Linings Playbook (David O. Russell), Lincoln (Steven Spielberg)

Who will win: Steven Spielberg

Who should win: Kathryn Bigelow. Oh wait, she wasn’t nominated.

Spielberg will win. Since Ben Affleck and Kathryn Bigelow were both snubbed, I’d be surprised if anyone walked away with the Oscar that wasn’t Spielberg.

On that note, I’ll leave everyone with the promise to be back later for a liveblog. But, before I do, let’s all watch that Daniel Day-Lewis Last of the Mohicans scene one more time.

*sigh* Perfection.

Leave a Reply

