misadventures with Lisa!

Sometimes the only thing you need in life is pizza and quality time with your girlfriends.

Last night I got to spend some time with one of my favorite people on the planet (and one of my closest friends to boot), Lisa.

I love this girl. We met on election night in 2008 & clicked immediately. On a night that was pretty horrific (from my viewpoint, anyway), meeting her was the bright spot of the evening (well, that and drinking Shooters dry of any red wine. Oops.).

In the past 3 years she has become one of my fiercest allies, closest confidents, and favorite partners-in-crime. I met her at a time in my life when I needed someone to remind me that life could be fun. Our misadventures are legendary: hanging out with Jimmy Dimora—pre-prison—at Stone Mad, creating our own “fake St. Patrick’s Day” in May (because we were both wearing green and went into the back of the bar we were in and pulled out all the St. Paddy’s day decorations. That is a true story, my friends), countless political events/meetings/door-knocks, impromptu sleepovers, festive fourth of July “Drunky McNoPants”, and an unfortunate night when my car died & she and I had to push poor Trudy into a random parking lot.

As cheesy as it sounds, I do believe things happen for a reason. And God was lookin’ out for me back in ’08 when the two of us met randomly at an election night party. And I’m so thankful every day that we did. I don’t tell her NEARLY enough, but having her friendship is truly a blessing. It’s hard to make REALLY good friends post-college, but having Lisa made me realize you actually can.

Here’s one of my favorite pictures of the two of us:

I’m thumbs-upping and she’s trying REALLY hard not to laugh at me. I think this was at the Reddstone (obviously during the summer).

Anyway, we ended up going to Angelo’s for pizza. If you live in Cleveland and have never been to Angelo’s, you are missing out. We ended up ordering salad and the Acapulco BBQ Chicken Pizza

Again, sorry for the crappy iPhone camera, but I forgot my actual camera. But look how yummy. Cheesy, bbq-y, bacon-y goodness (and the salad was pretty good too).

And while we were there, Santa Claus made an appearance. Of course, Lisa hopped on his lap.

It was strange that a random Lakewood pizza joint had Santa coming in, but we went with it. Maybe I should have asked him for more blog-readers for Christmas…(oh, and a job too).

After dinner, we met up with her boyfriend, Dave, and his friend Mike at a bar around the corner from Angelo’s.

There are lots of things that I love about Lakewood—it’s right on the lake, there are tons of great restaurants and bars, lots of my friends live there, etc. But my FAVORITE is the abundance of neighborhood corner bars—you know, the completely un-fancy, dive-y, hole-in-the-wall bars. I like getting glammed up and going to a nice restaurant or bar as much as the next girl…but there’s also something really awesome about local “watering holes” that are without all the frills: just cheap drinks, people you know, and a jukebox that can be controlled by your BFF’s cell phone (touchtunes, I love you!).

I stuck with water, but everyone else was drinking Christmas Ale (since they had it on tap). We made friends with the girls sitting next to us at the bar and proceeded to belt out every conceivable 80’s song that we knew the words to (also, sidenote: “I Want You Back” by the Jackson 5 has some mumbly words. Just sayin’). So.Much.Fun.

Also, even funnier? The handsoap in the bathroom

Yes, that is the hand soap. In a mustard container, clearly marked “hand soap”.

I’m still laughing.

One thought on “misadventures with Lisa!

  1. Dude, I love you so bad. And those kinds of nights need to happen more often than not. Love you, glad you had fun, and can’t wait to tear it up next time around!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

