current obsessions

I don’t really have much to say today (for my thoughts on the Michele Bachmann-Jimmy Fallon drama rama you can go here). It’s the day before Thanksgiving in Casa D which means one thing: everyone will be home (yay!) and we’ll be doing a lot of this

and this

and watching a lot of this

But my favorite thing is that it’s now completely and totally acceptable to start watching Christmas movies.

Confession: I LOVE cheesy and horrible Christmas movies. The worse, the better. I’ve seen ABC Family’s opus Holiday in Handcuffs at least six times. Recipe for a Perfect Christmas? I will  have the DVR set. Anything starring Tori Spelling, Jennifer Grey or someone that “revived” their career by Dancing with the Stars? I.Am.IN. If it airs on ABC Family, Lifetime, or the Hallmark Channel, I will watch it. And I will LOVE it.

It’s not just made-for-tv movies either. Deck the Halls with Danny DeVito—I was probably one of three people (besides my brother and my sorority little) that actually paid money to go see it. And don’t even get me started on the awesomeness of Jingle All The Way

Arnold was clearly robbed of an Oscar.

But, in Casa D, there are two movies we watch on repeat for most of November and December: Home Alone (1 & 2) and Christmas Vacation. I’ve seen both more times than I can count. And, even though I’ve seen them both a hundred times, I still dissolve into fits of giggles when the Griswolds’ Christmas tree catches on fire   or when Kevin McCallister throws bricks at Marv’s head 

*giggles*

But mostly, it reminds me of my family (specifically my siblings and my dad) and makes me all warm & gooey inside.

Even as I write this, I’m sitting on the couch with my dog at my feet, Christmas Vacation on the television (and thinking about cracking open one of these suckers chilling in the garage ) and arguing with my dad about whether or not Johnny Galecki is a good Rusty or not (in summation: Stacey says yes, Lee the D says no)

Life is good.

I’ve been meaning to blog about my new favorite song for weeks, but haven’t found the right scenario to talk about it. Today, however, I don’t care if it’s a total non sequitur. I’m obsessed with it and have been playing it pretty much on a loop for the past three weeks. It’s that good

Oh Bruno Mars, because your song is so good, I’ll forgive that it is from Twilight and that K-Stew and R-Patz make cameos in the video. (if you weren’t able to watch the video, it’s Bruno Mars — “It Will Rain”. It’s amazing. If I could eat it for breakfast, I would).

Hope everyone has an amazing holiday!

Leave a Reply

