do me a favor?

I was going to sit down and write something really fun and fluffy this morning. But, after receiving some truly awful news, I did a 180.

A childhood friend of my sister’s died this morning. She had been in an accident a few weeks ago and had been fighting some very serious injuries. And, sadly, this morning her little body couldn’t take it anymore and she passed away.

I’m still in shock.

Nicole and Michaela hadn’t seen each other in years—her family moved when we were kids, but I have nothing but good memories of her. She was an incredibly sweet girl with a kind heart. She was the kind of kid, even at age 8, who would go out of her way to say hello to my parents (and as she grew up, she continued to do so). I still remember her as the little brunette that was such a foil to my sister’s tall (and very blonde!) stature. My heart goes out to her parents and her family & friends. Losing someone (especially a child) is never easy and losing one during the holiday season is heartbreaking. They were (are) such a nice family and all of my thoughts and prayers are with them today.

So, I want everyone reading this to do me a favor today. Life is (sometimes horribly and tragically) short. Give someone that extra hug. Call that person you’ve been thinking about just to say “hi, I miss you.” Tell the people you love that you love them. Don’t waste your time and energy being angry, spiteful, or nasty. Be joyful, thankful and kind to one another (even if it’s reaaaaalllly hard).

And so something kind for someone today: hold open a door, donate to charity, volunteer a soup kitchen, let that person in in front of you on the highway, put an extra dollar in the tip jar at Starbucks—whatever. It doesn’t matter. Perform a random act of kindness for someone in Michaela’s honor. And maybe say an extra prayer for her & her family this weekend. I know I will.

Leave a Reply

