post-election day thoughts

I did say before that I wasn’t going to “do” politics on this blog (so go to www.fiercefabulousconservative.wordpress.com if you’re feelin’ like you need to know my political thoughts), but I did at least want to say a little something about elections.

I’m so thankful that I live in a country that has free elections. That if we don’t like something (a particular elected official or a law), we have the ability and right to change it. Regardless of your personal thoughts on the super intense/hyper-divisive Issue 2 (me personally, I was an Issue 2 supporter. Do I think it was perfect? No. Do I think it was better than what we had? Definitely. But that’s as much as I’ll say. Be on the look out for something on the other site if you are so inclined.), how great is it that we have the ability as Americans/Ohioans to tell our government that we want a change?  I’m so thankful I was born in the United States and have the ability to participate in the whole electoral process.

yay, America!

The being said, there’s not much than I love MORE than a presidential election year. I’m a political JUNKIE and I live for the whole election season. I’ve worked on numerous campaigns on all levels (local, state, federal) and I think everyone that has had any experience on a campaign will tell you, it’s definitely not for the faint of heart. It’s long hours, crazy people, cold pizza on top of being an emotional roller-coaster. But it’s also some of the most fun you’ll ever have. I’ve made some of my closest friends through the political world (hi, Lisa!) and have had some incredible times through it as well.

Now that we’re starting into the 2012 cycle, I am so excited. Being a Republican, our year begins earlier because of the primaries. I’m not a huge fan of primaries, mostly because candidates that usually are supportive of one another turn into squabbling married couples.

Don’t believe me? Watch and learn, folks

I mostly like watching the debates, & not just to find out who actually knows what they are talking about (here’s a hint, the only person who has consistently impressed me is Newt. And he looks like a bloated puppet in the Hall of President’s attraction at Disney World)

v

which one is the puppet? I can’t tell.

No, everyone, I like to watch because I like to mock. I enjoying making fun of the candidates (especially Gary Johnson. And Michele Bachmann’s Captain & Tennille wardrobe). That’s not to say I don’t like some of the candidates (because I do. Before this whole Herman Cain scandal, I was pretty much on board the Cain Train. Now, we’ll see), but because they can be SO ridiculous. Seriously.

There’s another debate on tonight (8:00 on CNBC) and I’m sure I’ll have a blog post up tomorrow on my thoughts.

For now, I’ll leave you with my favorite picture EVER of Michele Bachmann

"Gopher, Doc, get me Julie McCoy!"

Leave a Reply

