twice in less than twenty-four hours???

I know. I didn’t expect to write anything again so soon. However, I wanted to get it down before I forgot (again, I’m trying this whole ‘blog while I’m thinking about it’ thing. Even if it means I’m writing at 3 am.)

My costume was a hit. Well, would have been a hit. I ended up staying at the first party I went to all evening. It was a total accident and I am so sorry that I didn’t get a chance to get to the other parties and see everyone else. I ended up at my friends Bill and Leslie’s, catching up with people, most of which I’ve known since I was 18. I hadn’t seen some of them in years (And, to be fair, I missed B&L’s labor day extravanganza. I was horribly hungover from my college roomie, Sara’s, bridal shower/bachelorette weekend and it would have been torture for anyone to be around me in my miserable state. So, I wanted to make up for it.)

B&L were college sweethearts and some of my favorite people. I cannot imagine two more opposite people (he’s a lawyer, she’s a teacher), but they just work. I was much closer to Bill in college, but I’m so glad I’ve gotten to know Leslie better since graduating. I’m so glad they are back in my life and that they only live a few minutes away.

As I was sitting around their kitchen table, their dog, Mosby, lying on my feet, I looked around and had to smile. I was surrounded by Katy Perry, Daphne and Fred from Scooby Doo, Hugh Hefner and Athena (or maybe it was Persephone. Whatever, I can’t remember & it wasn’t that important) and a few other random costumes that were in various stages of removal (seriously, who wants to wear a hot itchy wig all evening—not this girl). Even though I hadn’t seen some of these people in years, it was like no time had passed. No awkward silences or “soooo, what are you up to these days?” Just a lot of laughing and teasing and skittle vodka (yes, they took skittles and combined it with vodka. Yes, I drank it. No, I’m not throwing up.). It got me thinking that sometimes those are the truest friendships—the ones that even though embarrassing amounts have time have passed, you go on like nothing has changed.

And it’s not just B&L and the rest of the party-goers that I’m glad to have back in my life. I got a text from my OTHER college roommate (and another all time Stacey favorite), Mollie, telling me that she and her little girl, Kate, were thinking of coming to the CLE in a few weeks. I immediately texted back and said “yes, and you have to stay with me!” I haven’t seen them since Kate was born (FYI, I am a terrible friend) even though they only live an hour and a half away. I’m already planning fun things for the 3 of us to do while they’re here.

I guess the point I’m trying to make (and not very succinctly) is that I was so blessed to have friends from college that aren’t thousands of miles away and I should make a point to see them more (this especially means you, Julia!) and reconnect. Ashland, Ohio was very good to me friendship-wise and sometimes I need reminding of that.

Leave a Reply

